FZ013: Earthling Society, “ZodiaK”

Earthling Society return with their seventh album, recorded live with overdubs over a two day period at Rock Hard Studios Blackpool. Using a full studio for the first time, for a clearer stripped back feel, the band have created a sprawling album of stoner psychedelia, space rock, dub and new wave.

Taking influences from Pink Fairies, Hawkwind, Spacemen 3, 70’s Detroit, Pere Ubu and PIL, Earthling Society have painted six portraits of alienation, serial killing, occultism and urban decay all built around the two epic songs of the ever morphing ‘Zodiak’ and the doom laden ‘Astral Traveller’.

To help with the proceedings Earthling Society recruited the Ubu-electronics of Vert:x and the late night noir sax of Lew Dickinson to add mood and colour like the brushstrokes of Chagall.

Track Listing:

  1. The City Of Resurrections
  2. I Don’t Know Myself
  3. ZodiaK (full version)
  4. Desolation
  5. The Astral Travller
  6. The Elevator Does Not Stop At This Floor

“The half hour title freakout recalls Syd Floyd, Hawkwind, Ash Ra Tempel” Mojo magazine

“Best concept album of the year so far” Classic Rock magazine

“Outstanding on every level…” SonicAbuse

“By far the best and most coherent recording by this hard working band to date ” DPRP

“Fans of Hawkwind, Litmus and associated spacerock bands will lap up this excellent offering” Terrascope 

Psychedelic monster album” Scott’s Music Reviews

“…some of the most powerhouse and intense space-psych rock…” Aural Innovations

 “riff themselves to abstract smithereens like Guru Guru performing Space Ritual with nothing to sustain them but a bucket of goat’s blood and a drinking straw apiece” Shindig magazine

“4/5… an electric line to your Zodiak sign” Record Collector magazine

“Grabbing handfuls of the rockier end of the krautrock spectrum and mixing it with Pinkwind street smarts, this is stoner rock of the most dubious chemistry” R2 magazine

 This album was released on 10th June 2013.



  • Archives